Email This Page

You can email this page to someone you know. Just supply your name and their email address.

Your Name:
Friend's Email:
Message:

   

The New Parent Transition Survey

Fournier, Lisa L. (2014)

Average Rating: (34 reviews)



http://transitioncoalition.org/transition/section.php?p...

Free Resource

Description

The New Parent Transition Survey addresses those areas identified for transition planning and assists the IEP team in making decisions. Seven areas are addressed: public school education, future post secondary education and training, employment and career training, future independent living options, guardianship/financial supports/trusts, transportation, recreation and leisure, and adult services. Parents rank the areas of need. 

Ratings & Reviews

Rated this assessment:

The Parent Transition Survey allows for the IEP/Transition team to get some insight as to where or what the parent wants to see for their child in their post-secondary future. It's a good way to assess if the parent and student are on the same page, and allows the team to determine common ground, and where some negotiating might need to take place. It also allows the team to determine what steps the family needs to take in order to contact the right organizations or to do personally (wills, trusts, etc...) that they might not have considered before reading this survey. Overall, I believe that the Parent Transition Survey is a valuable resource that allows the IEP team another avenue of information.


Stephanie Secosh
November 9, 2009
5:38PM

Rated this assessment:

I really like the Parent Transition Survey for many reasons. I think it gives great insight to educators as to what the parent views their childs greatest needs are for life after high school. I think it is a great tool that any parent can do since it is FREE. I really like the question on the survey that asks is this a realistic goal for your child. It is also helps link the inter agencies with the family identifying what type of support the child will need finding or maintaining a job. It really highlights all the major concerns for their childs future such as living options, guardianship, finances, transportation, employment, and social networking. Overall it gives the educator information of what the parents are already aware of and what they need more information on.


Jill Zingery
November 12, 2009
6:37PM

Rated this assessment:

Although, my district has a parent survey form that we use I find this form to be more appropriate. I find that most of my parents have not thought about what will happen after high school. I think that this survey is very straight forward and it covers information for education, employment, and living options. It also provides questions about guardianship and list adult services that they might consider gathering more information from. This survey ask if they feel that their students goals are realistic and it ever ask questions about the types of support that they feel their child may need. I have a hard time finding the correct words to approach some parent in order to find out this information and I am so glad to find that this form asks all these questions for me.


Tena Glover
November 13, 2009
4:25AM

Rated this assessment:

I liked this assessment right away. The questions are straight forward. They assess the parents understanding of their student's disability, abilities, needs, and future education, career and employment expectations. It considers their opinion about future living options and concerns about independent living. It also asks questions about finances, wills, and guardianship; their student's transportation accessibility, and recreation and interests.

It also has a table where the parents can fill in information about their awareness of the Services available in their community.


Dree Grimm
November 13, 2009
2:54AM

Rated this assessment:

I love the Parent Transition Survey and have sent it to my sped director to review. Hopefully, we will send this home to all parents/guardians of our IEP students this year. The Parent Transition Survey addresses the areas of education, future education, career & employment, future living options, finances, wills & trusts, guardianship, transportation, recreation and leisure, and adult services. This information will help the school staff understand what the parent believes is important for their child and the future goals of their child. Parents/guardians may not think of all these areas without the school giving them information. If a child is to be successful after high school, all members of the IEP team need to be on the same track and plan/provide the services required to help the child meet their transition goals.


Diane OConnell
November 13, 2009
9:59PM

Rated this assessment:

The Parent Transition Survey provides an opportunity to record a parent's insights for their child's transition needs and how they see their child's outcomes. I send home a very similiar survey with our Notice of Meetings. We ask that the parent complete the survey and bring it to the IEP meeting. We have found it to be especially helpful to parents attending their child's first transition meeting. I helps to prepare the parents in thinking about transition ahead of the meeting and having an understanding of what transition means. I really liked the last section on this particular survey. It gives the school information on what agencies a parent has already contacted on their own and which they would be interested in receiving more information about.


Lisa Warner
November 14, 2009
5:45PM

Rated this assessment:

Parent Transition Survey

My initial thoughts on this survey were good, but the more I looked at each question, the more questions I had. I feel like some of the questions make the parent choose a certain path for their child, one which may presume they cannot do other paths (i.e. Future Education and Career & Employment options).

After the parents choose their child's future education and career option, they state what type of work their child is in and then are asked whether that is realistic or not. I'm not sure we should ask parents to make a judgment on their child's goal. I think it is a good idea to ask the parents what type of employment they think their child would enjoy. In this way, possible conflicts would be known and dealt with (i.e. counseling for parent).

Again, some of the options given for future living options, finances, wills and trusts, guardianships and transportation I think makes the parent choose the path now, limiting options, and shutting down dreams their child and they may have.

The last section, adult services section, I feel has a lot of merit and is easy to complete. The completion of this section would help the team know what the parent does not know. I'm unsure about the terminology used on one service, "mental retardation center," though. Is this the same thing as an intermediate care facility for mental retardation (ICF-MR)?


Jenifer Randle
November 14, 2009
11:02PM

Rated this assessment:

The Parent Transition Survey is comprehensive and gives valuable information that can lead to successful transition planning. It can be used as a springboard to directly involve the parents in their child's transition plan. Many important goals can be generated from the results of this survey. Its user-friendly format requiring only check marks or circling yes/no, brief length, and vital information it provides gives it a five-star rating.


Lori Godfrey
November 15, 2009
3:54AM

Rated this assessment:

I think that this is a valuable assessment that will help bring parents and teachers together as equal partners in IEP and Transition planning. The survey offers parents the opportunity to let the school know what they consider to be the student's greatest area of need and what they envision for their future. The questions are very practical and straight-forward but it also forces parents to think about what will happen after a student graduates from high school. Many parents tend to have 'tunnel vision' when it comes to the future and are very focused on just getting through today. As understandable as that is, we all know how important it is to plan for whatever post-secondary goal may be appropriate. This helps bring the parents into that discussion by seeing what resources they are already aware of and what their vision is as well.


Amanda Farris
November 15, 2009
4:55PM

Rated this assessment:

I like the looks of this. I think that each area gave reasonable answer choices for the parent and if they did not like the above choices listed, the was always the option for "other" or "don't know". I think that is fair but at the same time gives the parent "something to think about". I especially like how it starts off addressing where their child is now, in which direction is their child heading, and how are we going to get there? It also has the daily living aspects included such as transportation, living arrangements, and finances. Overall, I think this is a good tool for all involved in the transition planning for students. So many times we, as educators, tend to focus on the student while we are with them at school and discuss transition with them individually, but we forget to gather vital information from other points of view. I think this tool would allow for that since the parents are the primary source, other than the student, that is going to be involved, especially for those that have a higher need.

I have not used this personally and since I am new in my position and my position is new in my district, this is one that I will introduce to my department for use for our students and their parents.


Jerian Cesonis
November 15, 2009
7:32PM

Rated this assessment:

The Parent Transition Survey focused on the support system of most students. It allows the parents to have a voice and to determine if the parents and student have similar goals and outlook. For the transition team it allows them an opportunity to have parental input that may not occur in the IEP meeting. It also provides an opportunity for the parents to request additional information on services. I feel this is a survey that could be given yearly during middle school and high school to see how the parental outlook changes. It also gives a chance for the IEP team to see if the parental outlook is on track with the student's actual abilities.

The survey addresses many areas outside of education, including employment, social and recreational activities, financial planning and adult services. Because it is easy, it should not be difficult for the parents to complete and give honest answers.


michel brindell
November 15, 2009
7:42PM

Rated this assessment:

I have used this survey for many years. It gives the parents a means of communicating what they see for their child. I teach Life Skills to HIgh School children of disabilties in the moderate to severe range, so it is important to my parents as well as my students that we work as a team to help the students with their dreams and goals. This survey helps the parents focus on some needed areas. It helps them communicate with their child. It gives us a starting point for Future's Planning. I believe it also helps the Parent feel more like part of the IEP team and is a means to express themselves in that "Parent Concerns" part of the PLEP. It also gives us a starting point in our transition planning sessions. This form has also helped me in many ways to know what my parents know. I have monthly Parent Meetings in which I bring in information and speakers on different topics my parents would like to know about. It has helped many of my parents to know what questions to ask, what they may need to plan for in the future, and helps me know what transition services my students may need to access.


Katherine Haslag
November 16, 2009
4:22AM

Rated this assessment:

I think that this assessment will be very useful in many ways. No one will ever know the student better than their parents and this is a wonderful way to get their input in this process. I liked the section in which parents were asked to give information on recreational options and transportation options. In a rural state such as Vermont, transportation can be a huge barrier to life after high school. If teams begin to look at solving this problem early, the chances of overcoming it are greater. I also liked that the various adult service agencies are listed. I think that this process can be overwhelming to parents and having a place from which to start is good.

On the negative side, I think that this assessment would work better for those students with lower skills, such as those who are learning impaired. Many of the students I work with do not have the deficits in basic living skills which are outlined in parts of this assessment. In addition one of the options listed under Career and Employment is "sheltered workshop" which, if it exists in Vermont at all, is not a readily available option.


Helen Jurnak
January 25, 2010
3:43PM

Rated this assessment:

The Parent Transition Survey is an important tool which allows parents the opportunity to begin to think about their plans for their child's future after graduating from high school. It was clearly written in basic language that is easily understood. The fact that it is a rating system encourages parents to set priorities instead of a checklist format where the tendency may be to check everything. Many of the questions were worded in a continuum format, for example the various living situations. This is helpful for parents who may think that their only options are having their child live with them forever or putting them in some sort of foster care situation. This survey highlights the continuum of choices that should be considered.


Debra DeMulder
January 26, 2010
2:14AM

Rated this assessment:

I really liked the Parent Transition Survey. I found this survey to be user friendly and an amazing tool for parents. I felt that this survey allows the parents to become fully aware of the various possibilities that are offered for their child. I also liked how the survey touched upon the parent's hopes and feelings about their child's education, employment, independent living, etc... This information is always nice to have because we can see what the parents are thinking and then compare it to that of the student's thoughts and dreams.

Another part of the survey that I liked was the information about Adult Services. As a Special Educator I would find this section very important because it would tell me where the parents needed more information and which areas they felt they had enough knowledge about. This tool will help me to understand where, as a school, we need to provide more information about our outside agencies to families.


Jamie Ste. Marie
January 26, 2010
7:40PM

Rated this assessment:

The Parent Transition Survey is an excellent tool. This tool allows parents to think about their child's future and skills they will need to be independent. I use the Parent Transition Survey in advance of an IEP meeting so that parents will start to think and focus on their child's life after high school. While this survey produces valuable information for the IEP team, I have found that some parents do not like the length of the survey.


Colleen Davis
January 28, 2010
1:32AM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The overall format is simple and probably not intimidating for parents, which is great; however, it could use some elaboration to be beneficial for the transition team. I've got a couple of parents who don't even want to talk about transition, let alone specify career, educational or "independent living" paths. I appreciate that there is a section that parents can rank their son/daughter's greatest areas of need which simultaneously identify instructional areas for transition. I also think that my students' parents don't consider their son/daughter to be able to live independent of them and this survey gives them an opportunity to think about it. Finally, I think the list of Adult Services for Transition is an excellent way to introduce to parents the potential services available for their son/daughter to access.


Kathy Thielen
January 28, 2010
10:54PM

Rated this assessment:

I liked the survey. The questions are very straightforward and thoughtful. I would not use the survey only one time and let it go. I would revisit the input from the survey yearly and readjust where needed. Depending on where the student is, the questions can lead you towards a life requiring assisted living and assistance in the work place, but on the other hand it can lead the team towards writing goals that would allow for independent living. The answers to the questions also open the eyes of the IEP team to where the parents are coming from, their values and beliefs in what they feel that their child is capable of. Many times parents beliefs are tempered by their own fears for their child, which is where the IEP and team members are so important.

I really was impressed with the sectioin on wills and trusts. Many individuals forget that these are important pieces to think about no matter who the child is or what the circumstances are. Life is so unpredictable, we all think that we will grow old and watch our children have children but this is not always the case.

The only area that made me cringe was when it mentioned mental retardation. In Vermont we no longer use this phrase preferring to use cognitively challenged or learning impaired. I wish that we could remove this phrase all together.


Suzanne Buck
January 29, 2010
12:44AM

Rated this assessment:

I love using this survey! I send it off to the parents along with the TPI to get a clearer idea of what is important to parents. This helps cut down time in meetings, provides important info for the team members( including outside agencies), and helps establish what skills should have priority. I also feel the parents find it useful because it gives them a better understanding of the transition planning process. Of course, make sure you send it off plenty of time ahead of your meeting!


Andrea Barberi
January 30, 2010
1:18PM

Rated this assessment:

The Parent Transition Survey is a tool to get parents involved in the transition process. It requires them to think about many different aspects of being a productive adult. However, I do feel that since this form addresses the needs of a variety of disabilities that parents of students with mild disabilities may feel that the form includes questions that do not necessarily pertain to their child.


Barbara McLoughlin
January 30, 2010
10:10PM

Rated this assessment:

The Parent Transition Survey is clear, concise, and written without jargon or complex professional language. It can provide a guide for parents to either begin thinking about transition or to refine their thinking about it as their student grows older. It would be very useful if it were given to parents some time prior to an IEP meeting so that they could prepare ideas, questions, and concerns for the team's discussions. I believe it is useful across disability categories to ensure that there are no unexamined areas of concern or areas that parents and/or students have not considered (some of the adaptive skills, for instance). With the exception of information that is specific to its Kansas location, this is a document that is valuable assessment tool for any IEP team discussing transition.


Ann Carol Moffett
January 31, 2010
5:16PM

Rated this assessment:

I found this assessment to be a great way to open communication about transition between parents and the school system. I appreciate the variety of questions and options within each question. Simply reading the questions may provide the parents will additional ideas and resources for their child.

While I find the paragraph at the beginning to be a good introduction, I would attach a letter to the parent to further explain my use for this assessment with their child. I would also request that the parents involve the student in the process of filling out the assessment.

The section I find to be the most helpful is the Adult Service section. I think that this chart will be an eye opener to most parents, who are unaware of many service available to adults with disabilities. It might be more beneificial if the list were personalized with agencies in the area/state. I would also add a phone number to each agency to make it more accessable.

I was impressed with this survey and will begin using it with my incoming freshmen.


Meaghan Marsh
January 31, 2010
5:36PM

Rated this assessment:

In our school district, Parent Transition Survey is sent to the parents of our transtion age students. We ask that it is filled out and returned prior to the IEP. This survey is straightforward and does not require a lot of witing ( time consuming and overwhelming for some parents). I like sending it home ahead of the IEP giving parents time to think about their answers and to discuss the information with the other important people in their children's lives. It is also useful to review this survey with the student. If you know your students well, this input can provide valuable information regarding similarities and differences between parent and student transition goals. I would recommend that all transition IEPs start with this basic survey; if for no other reason, it is a good starting point for transition related discussion. This survey is attached to the meeting minutes as part of the record.


gina himes
January 31, 2010
6:27PM

Rated this assessment:

The Parent Transition Survey is a good tool to get parents thinking about the transition needs of their child. It touches on some key areas that are important in the transition process such as: future education, career and employment, independent living, the student's personal interests and the parents hopes and dreams for their child.

The survey is user friendly and has a simple format to it. It is short and length and should only take minimal time for those people who may be looking for something quick to fill out, but provides useful information to the child's transition team. As a special educator I also like how this survey ends with a section that asks the parents if they have been informed of outside agencies that can also be a support to them and their child. If the parent marks unaware then as a teacher I know the areas that I need to continue to improve upon in order to give the parent all the useful information that I can.


Melissa Dennett
February 1, 2010
3:03PM

Rated this assessment:

I really like the looks of this transition survey. It is just for parents to complete but it looks very thorough in regard to transition and self determination. This may be an excellent way to really get parents thinking about where they would like their son/daughter to be after high school, what it would involve and everything that needs to be considered to get there. I think often times, parents don't get the full picture until close to graduation. Competing this early in their student's education would be appropriate and yearly after that to note where they see progress and where they see continued need. It would also be interesting to see how their views about their child's future may change.


Diane Records
May 25, 2011
9:36PM

Rated this assessment:

I like this survey because it helps parents to think about areas of their childs life that need to be addressed. Parents can ask for additional information to be provided in areas that they have questions or concerns about. This survey can easily be filled out by a parent and the format is pretty straightforward.


Mary Chavez-Miranda
May 29, 2011
3:46AM

Rated this assessment:

I really liked this assessment tool. I feel like it had a wide variety of assessment tabs for the student as well as the parents. There are times the parents have their mind made up and the student does not want to go with what the parent wants but there are several things in here that would be easy transition topics to clear that up.


Gretchen Bell
April 9, 2012
9:01PM

Rated this assessment:

The Parent Transition survey is a wonderful tool to have in an educator's took box for transition. This survey allows parents to think and evaluate their child in regards to employment, vocation training, and the other areas of transition. My parents usually are overwhelmed by the transition process and often balk at their child's goals for career and education. With this tool, I can have them fill out before the meeting and be better prepared for the whole process. This allows them to feel like they are more activily participating. Free is always good, too!!!


Daneille Heuvel
October 28, 2012
9:01PM

Rated this assessment:

Like the CITE learning styles assessment, I like the Parent Transition Survey is free and easy to use. Looking it over, I believe that parents would find it helpful, because they could begin to formally reflect about their child's future. I think that parents would appreciate that the tool is easy to use, and doesn't require them to fill out a million bubbles. The last section on the assessment is especially interesting, because it lists all of the different services that a student may need to access. I would bet that most parents do not know about all of these types of services. Teachers should easily be able to use the information from the survey as a starting point for transition planning and goal setting.


Kelly Choma
October 29, 2012
8:25PM

Rated this assessment:

This informal assessment survey helps the transition team to understand the parent's preference for their child's post-secondary future. Coupled with what the child wants, it is important to know the parent's preferences in order to best collaborate and find common ground. The team can also negotiate with the family and figure out what steps to take in order to achieve the common goal for that student.


Micah Louis
March 11, 2014
11:59PM

Rated this assessment:

This is a great informal assessment. It gives educators a look into how parents see their children and what expectation they have for them for transition. It is a great tool for parents to be involved and make their voice heard.


Jess Wehrli
March 12, 2014
12:18AM

Rated this assessment:

In my opinion this is an informal assessment tool. I would def use this assessment within my classroom or in a transition team Ia m working with because it allows students parents to have input on their wants and prefrences for thier child.


Kristen Hirth
March 12, 2014
12:19AM

Rated this assessment:

I really like that this includes tips for parents and allows for them to give their input into what they desire for their child. It is definitely something I would use to help include parents in the transitioning of their child from setting to setting.


Leah Parsons
March 12, 2014
1:32AM

Rated this assessment:

This informal assessment allows parents to express their vision for their child's postsecondary future. It is a valuable resource that identifies parental goals, student goals, and can help educators identify the similarities between the two. This information is beneficial for IEP and transition teams when determining what steps need to be taken to achieve postsecondary goals. It can also identify areas in need of negotiation and can identify helpful organizations and personal things that need to be addressed in order to achieve postsecondary goals. I like that the tools if free to parents can highlights potential concerns in their child's future such as living options, guardianship, finances, transportation, employment, and social networking. This is an excellent transition-planning tool that allows educators to get a clearer understanding of the parent's goals for their child.


Rachel Marlow
March 17, 2014
4:18AM

Disclaimer

The Transition Coalition and the Division on Career Development and Transition (DCDT) have collected and disseminated these tips in an effort to enhance public access to information about transition activities. Our intention is to provide resources that are current and accurate. We do not endorse or promote any of the products, websites or ideas presented in the tips. Although every attempt is made to ensure the accuracy of this information, we can make no guarantees. We will, of course, make every effort to correct errors brought to our attention. If you find an error in one of the tips listed, you may contact us. Please credit the source when copying all or part of this material.