Email This Page

You can email this page to someone you know. Just supply your name and their email address.

Your Name:
Friend's Email:
Message:

   

C.I.T.E. Learning Styles Instrument.

Babich, A.M., Burdine, P., Albright, L., & Randol, P. (1976)

Average Rating: (24 reviews)

Wichita, KS: Murdoch Teachers Center. Republished 2003 by WVABE.

http://www.harding.edu/arc/pdf/cite.pdf

Free Resource

Description

The Center for Innovative Teaching Experiences C.I.T.E. Learning Styles Instrument helps educators determine their students' learning styles. Students rate themselves on 45 items, total their score, and come up with a major and minor learning style. Descriptions of each learning style are given to help understand a student's preferred mode of learning. This is also a great tool for teachers to know the major learning styles of their students. FREE.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I administered this instrument to myself, and scored it. I was amazed with how accurate it was! The assessment includes a Likert scale, which produces scores related to different learning style areas. Score ranges correlate to three results: Major Learning Style, Minor Learning Style, and Negligible Use. The learning styles are well defined, and include techniques for teaching to students who possess each style. I found that particularly informative. Often I am asked to give suggestions to casemanagers about how best to teach students with different learning styles. Utilizing this instrument in evaluations will help me to better do that. I think the information this instrument can provide would be very relevant for all students, but particularly those with disabilities, whose processing difficulties make specialized instruction essential.


Melinda Barnett
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Of all the learning style survey that I have seen I feel this one best fits the needs of students with disabilities. The C.I.T.E. Learning Styles Instrument is a wonderful resource that provide not only information about different learning styles but it also provided techniques for teacher to use in order to teach to the individual learning styles. The 45 questions are straight forward, to the point and easy to understand making it easy for the student to read and complete on their own. The survey is design to divide student into three areas such as: information gathering, work conditions, and expressiveness. I feel that this would be a great tool to use in learning labs as it would provide feedback that is more related to education needs than most learning style survey that I have used in the past. I plan to use this in learning lab next week. I would like to say thank you to the Murdoch Teachers Center for developing this learning style tool for us to use.


Tena Glover
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I loved this assessment.

Although, up front, it does not appear as a transition assessment per say, by identifying the student's learning style, we can provide them with great insight and assistance while going through the transitional (pre and post) educational process.

The identification of the student's learning style, gives both the student as well as the teacher, a good guideline of how the student learns best and can be a great tool to improve the quality of teaching and learning. In addition, this short assessment offers suggestions of teaching techniques for each learning style.


Dree Grimm
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The C.I.T.E. Learning Styles Instrument provides good information on how one learns. If a student understands their best learning style they can participate better in classroom instruction and study at home with the techniques that match their learning style. Case managers can use the information when deciding on accommodations/modifications for IEP students. Teachers can present information in a variety of ways to match the learning styles of their students.

We are going to have all ninth graders take this in their Communication Arts class to help them understand the way they best learn.

This instrument would of received five stars if there had been a better explanation of the rating scale. Levels 4 & 1 were explained but level 3 & 2 were not and students did not use them as much because they were unsure what they meant.


Diane OConnell
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The C.I.T.E Learning Styles Instrument is easy to administer and can be give to an individual or large group. It is simple to score and interpret. I feel the information obtain can be used 3 ways:

  1. It provides information for the student to know more about themselves and how they learn best.
  2. It provides valuable information for teachers to plan activities/instuction that match a students preferred learning style.
  3. Information about a students learning styles can assist an IEP team in choosing classroom accommodations that compliment a students learning style.

I would recommend this assessment for special education teachers to use, as well as, general education teachers.


Lisa Warner
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The CITE Learning Styles Instrument is a wonderful beginning point for learners who are working toward having better self-advocacy skills. Once the instrument is administered, it can easily be scored to get a good picture of what the child's learning style is. A key component of this instrument is the provision of teaching techniques that assist each learner to advocate to teachers, parents, and employers about the best way to assist them in being successful. This instrument is above and beyond others that assess learning styles, because instead of providing an elusive term such as being a visual learner, it breaks it down to allow others to know how that can be applied to assist the child.


Cindy Snow
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I administered this assessment to my husband and found that it was easy to administer and score. The results of the assessment were right on the mark.

I really like the teaching suggestions that go with each learning style; these strategies can facilitate effective presentation of instructional materials within the classroom setting to meet the different learning needs. This assessment is also a great way to provide students with insight into their own learning style and assist them with developing learning strategies and study skills that match their learning styles. This is especially true for students who are transitioning into college or vocational schools. For students who are transitioning into employment this assessment could be helpful with developing training strategies and effective learning accommodations within the work setting.


maria kerr
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The C.I.T.E. (Center for Innnovative Teaching Experiences) Learning Styles Instrument considers ways the students process information within nine domains along with work conditions and expressiveness. It also gives descriptors of and teaching strategies for the different learning styles. The C.I.T.E. provides to parents, students and teachers insight into an individual's preferred learning styles. Its simple format, brief length, free cost, and a computer application system available make this assessment earn a five-star rating.


Lori Godfrey
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the main reasons that I feel that this is a valuable assessment to use with students is that it helps you, as a teacher, see how students see themselves. It assesses students in three main areas; information gathering, work conditions and expressiveness but unlike other inventories it actually defines what they are referring to by these terms. The assessment is also a good length for students to complete (45 questions), it's long enough to get a complete picture but not so long that they get bored and just start guessing at the answers! It has a 4 point rating system and does not include an 'indifferent' or 'neutral' answer. Having administed many of these types of assessments, I think it's wonderful that students don't have the option of just picking 'indifferent' all the way down but are actually forced to decide whether they like or dislike the option. One big thing that this assessment has that others tend to be missing is the practical piece. Once you've scored the assessment (really easy to do!) and found the strongest learning styles it gives practical suggestions for what type of activities are best suited for a student with that particular learning style. This way, you're not only just learning about your students, you're also learning ideas for how to work with them.


Amanda Farris
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I found the CITE Learning Styles Instrument to be a very easy instrument to administer and score. I liked how the instrument is very student oriented - the student must rate each statement on a 4 point rating scale. They do not have the option of stating I do not like or do not know - they are forced to make a choice.

The definitions and teaching techniques of the learning styles was beneficial. It defines the learning styles and while it may seem simple, clearly states how the student may learn best. It allows the students to take the basic knowledge of how they learn best with them. This knowledge can be applied to their lives in education and employment. The teaching techniques also state how to provide the information to the student and gives multiple suggestions for each learning style. This instrument is easy to understand, administer, score and implement the recommended techniques.


michel brindell
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The C.I.T.E. Learning Styles Instrument is a very useful tool for understanding a students prefer learning style. As teachers, we realize how very important that is. I too, administered this instrument to myself, my son and several students and was please to see how accurate the scoring was. A good teacher should know their students learning styles and teach accordingly. This instrument was easy to give and score. I have seen and used others but this is now my new favorite. Lots of good information.


Brenda Higley
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My review of the C.I.T.E Learning Styles Instrument was favorable. I administered the assessment on myself and others and was amazed at the ease of administration, and the accuracy of the results. The questions presented were rephrased throughout the assessment to ensure that the participant had to reflect on their personal comfort level in regards to the manner in which information is introduced. As well as how they are best able to demonstrate their knowledge. I feel that this is a tool that should be administered early in the year so that educators can better know understand the learning styles of their students. Armed with that knowledge they can utilizes appropriate teaching techniques. I also benefitted from the thorough descriptions of the learning styles, teaching techniques and scoring categories.


Juanita Brown
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The C.I.T.E. Learning Styles Instrument is a great learning styles inventory. The instructions are clear and the statements rated are easily understood by students. The C.I.T.E gives teachers and students information on the learning style preferences and ways to address instruction to meet the different learning styles. When I use the C.I.T.E, I have students take this at the beginning of the school year so that I can adjust my teaching techniques to meet my students various learning styles. I have used other learning style inventories and I find this one to be the easiest for my students to understand. I highly recommend the C.I.T.E. Learning Styles Instrument.


Colleen Davis
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The C.I.T.E. Learning Styles Instrument is user friendly; the statements are well written with students in mind. Since there are forty-five questions I would probably have a student do this at school and I would be available if they needed any clarification. I would want the student to be thoughtful and not rush through the form. The score sheet is easy to fill out. The Definitions and Teaching Techniques for Major Learning Styles is not only good information for the teacher but also for the student. A discussion of the results and what they mean should provoke a conversation in which the student can identify with their learning style. Giving a name to a student's particular learning style can be powerful information.


Barbara McLoughlin
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The C.I.T.E.Learning Styles Instrument is a simply designed survey that asks students to rate learning statements about themselves. The statements are easily understood and the scoring system is straight forward. The learning styles/teaching techniques chart is useful when writing accommodations and talking to teachers about students' needs. It is also a great tool when teaching self-advocacy. It gives students the language they need to communicate their learning styles to others. I would recommend that students planning to further their education after high school take this survey and use it as a starting point to develop an understanding of their personal educational needs. The survey is 45 questions long and may need to be broken into two parts for those students with attentional or academic challenges.


gina himes
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The CITE is a helpful tool for teachers and students. For anyone that uses learning style inventories to help students with meta-cognition activities... Here is a student-friendly assessment. This is also a good tool to use with students with disabilities. I will use this assessment as part of my self-awareness and advocacy units.


Daniel Nowlan
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I completed the C.I.T.E. and there was no Major Learning Style identified for my scores. All of my scores where in the Minor Learning Style section. My scores ranged from 32 to 22. My score of 32 was in the area of visual learner learning style, and I would have to agree with this score. My lowest score of 22 was in the area of Auditory, Visual, Kinesthetic learning style, and I would also have to agree with this score too. I do like the way the assessment is set-up. I especially like the way the assessment provides definitions of the learning styles and the teaching techniques for each learning style. I find this assessment to be a great resource for teachers and students alike.

One of my concerns with this assessment is students correctly scoring the questions by understanding the rating scale provided. Another concern is students transferring their scores to the scoring sheet and correctly adding their scores. I feel this assessment would be a little confusing for some of my students, which may result in incorrect information.


Sandy Fischer
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I administered this instrument to my students all the time. I am pleased with how accurate it was! The assessment includes a Likert scale, which produces scores related to different learning style areas. Score ranges correlate to three results: Major Learning Style, Minor Learning Style, and Negligible Use. The learning styles are well defined, and include techniques for teaching to students who possess each style. I found that particularly informative. Often I am asked to give suggestions to casemanagers about how best to teach students with different learning styles. Utilizing this instrument in evaluations will help me to better do that. I think the information this instrument can provide would be very relevant for all students, but particularly those with disabilities, whose processing difficulties make specialized instruction essential. I have even put the assessment on an Excel file and the students take it on the computer and it graphs it for me. So cool.

Josephine Heuterman


Josephine Heuterman
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

There are a few things that I really like about the CITE as a transition assessment tool. First of all, I like that it is free and easy to access. In this economy, every special education department is pinching pennies and every special education teacher is lacking time. I also like that it is easy to use and easy to score. Although this assessment isn't meant to be super in-depth, it is a quick and easy tool for students to take, use, and understand. It is also a great tool to share with general education teachers and workplace employers, to help others understand student needs.


Kelly Choma
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This assessment would be more informal. It gives teachers more of an overview to understand the student. It's a survey to that is student friendly so they understand what they are answering. I like this from a teacher point of view, a survey I would use for all of my students to get an idea of how they learn.


Jess Wehrli
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This appears to be a informal assessment, that students can take on thier own without teacher admistering. While it would be good for students who could do this style of assessment and its allows students to express personal prefrences about different questions. THe issue I have with the assessment is that to me is looks like something that while it can be used for student prefrences/ choices to me it does not go into some different areas that would prove it more valuable over a variety of concepts and questions/


Kristen Hirth
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Although this assessment is not directly related to transition services, I believe that the information gathered from this assessment is beneficial when going through the transitional educational process. I really liked the Likert scale format and how it considers that a student may have a specific learning style or multiple learning styles that impact his or her learning abilities. I also liked that the student learning style are arranged in an order that may attribute to his or her success. The categories include major learning style, minor learning style, and negligible use. This information is an excellent tool when identifying learning styles as well as identifying teaching strategies that could be implemented to maximize student effectiveness. Additionally, this assessment is relevant for all students and can allow us as educators individualize instruction to fully equip our students with the skills needed to be successful.


Rachel Marlow
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I like how this informal assessment came with a Likert scale. It seems very simple and something that can be done very easily in a busy school day as a data collection tool. It does an excellent job covering learning styles that will helpt the transition team best help the student moving forward. It is also a great tool for ongoing assessment, and case managers can use this in their evaluations of students in a relevant and meaningful way.


Micah Louis
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This informal assessment clearly asks the student to think about the way in which they learn. It includes a Likert scale that goes from 1-4, so the student is forced to lean one way or the other. I appreciate that the questions are clear and concise, so it is accessible to struggling readers.


Leah Parsons
May 9, 2014
5:15PM

Disclaimer

The Transition Coalition and the Division on Career Development and Transition (DCDT) have collected and disseminated these tips in an effort to enhance public access to information about transition activities. Our intention is to provide resources that are current and accurate. We do not endorse or promote any of the products, websites or ideas presented in the tips. Although every attempt is made to ensure the accuracy of this information, we can make no guarantees. We will, of course, make every effort to correct errors brought to our attention. If you find an error in one of the tips listed, you may contact us. Please credit the source when copying all or part of this material.