Email This Page

You can email this page to someone you know. Just supply your name and their email address.

Your Name:
Friend's Email:
Message:

   

AIR Self-Determination Scale

American Institutes for Research (1994)

Average Rating: (29 reviews)

American Institutes for Research

http://education.ou.edu/zarrow/?p=38&z=3

Free Resource

Description

The AIR Self-Determination Assessment produces a profile of the student's level of self-determination, identifies areas of strength and areas needing improvement, and identifies specific educational goals that can be incorporated into the student's IEP. Spanish translations available.

Ratings & Reviews

Rated this assessment: 0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Though I have not used this for as yet, I am impressed by the questions it asks to get the student thinking about their goals.I like that it requires the student to write and put some thought into thier answers for their goals.I also like the fact that this assessment is asking the same questions to the parents and the educators of the student. This is a good way to see if everyone is on the same page. I also found the user guide to be very informative about teaching self-determination and how to use this assessment to best assist your student in their desire to meet their goals.


Susan Chelton
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

These scales are very user-friendly. When used in the past, I have sent the parent form in the mail, along with a self-addressed stamped envelope so the parents were compelled to return the form to me. The user guide is very detailed and the information provided by the 3 scales can aide case managers with information when writing students strengths and weaknesses regarding self-determination.


Lora Wattelet
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I haven't used the assessment yet, but I love its format! The Likert scale questions are short but succint, allowing even the most rushed and impatient user the opportunity to provide much important data about students' levels of self-determination. I really like the concept of having students, parents and educators respond. I think it is very informative to see both differences and similarities among the various responders. Also, the addition of the essay section helps to specifically pinpoint how students go about achieving goals, again from the perspective of different responders. Results from this assessment could lead to serious discussions with students about their self-determination and goal attainment skills, and how they might be improved or tweaked.


Melinda Barnett
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Although I have not used this assessment yet it looks like a great one to use. I love that it identifies educational goals that can be incorporated into the students IEP. Also I like that it identifies the students strengths and weakness in their own self-determination. I love the format and it looks very easy to use with student, teacher and parent. I like on the student form how it defines what is a goal and a plan. I especially like how if allows students to write what goal they are working on and how they are going to achieve it. I think the results from all three parties will allow one to really assess the students strengths and weakness on their own self-determination skills and goal attainment.


Jill Zingery
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I was very impressed with the AIR Self-Determination Scale. I have not used this scale before but I plan to use it in the future. The scale is very user friendly and uses short, to the point questions to be answered by both the student and the parent. I like the way it explains the difference between a goal and a plan. I think that having a scale that is compatible for the student, parent and teachers is a great resource. Often when scales are designed for both the teacher and the parent to complete they mainly ask questions that are more designed for the parent. The form the teacher uses in this scale is design for what the teacher sees at school and is compatible to determine education needs. I looked at the score guide and feel that this form is not only a great resource that involves the three (student, parent and teacher) ratings to be compared but it also allows for insight given by the student that is very individualized and hopefully the student are willing to be more honest in their responses.


Tena Glover
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The AIR Self-Determination Scale allows you to gather information from the student, parent and educator which gives a better picture of the student. The rating scale is very easy to understand with an explanation for each level on the scale. The form lets you know this is not a test and there are no right or wrong answers. The words Goal and Plan are defined to help reading the statements to rate. I like the three short question that have to be answered in written form because it gives more personal insight to what the rater thinks.

I believe this will be a very helpful assessment and we are going to have all students in the tenth grade take this assessment in their Communication Arts class. Case managers can use the results to discuss the strengths and weakness of an IEP student in the area of self-determination. Teachers can use the results for lesson planning to increase a student self-determination skills.


Diane OConnell
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I must say I am very impressed with the AIR Self-Determination Scale. Before I even looked at the scale, I was happy to see that there was a Spanish Version for the student. The fact that the scale has a student, parent, and teacher version means that a very comprehensive view of the student can be obtained. The questions are very easy to read. I liked the fact that it not only had rating scale questions, but it also had a written component. The User Guide was easy to read and gave alot of good information. It was nice that they included examples. The fact that this scale can be used for all ages is a definate plus. I liked the view of Opportunity vs. Capacity. This component would be useful in selecting IEP goals and planning services to provide our students opportunities to practice their self-determination skills.

I have not used this scale before, but I plan to share it with my teachers and add it to our bag of tricks! The star keep disappearing when I click them so I will state them here. 5 STARS


Lisa Warner
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have never used this assessment before however I will definitely begin. I find this assessment to be great for students and parents to do together in their most comfortable environments. Since this assessment to take longer then 5-10 mins. I would send this home with my students to complete. I would like to share this with my special education co-workers to use with their students.


Takisha Ogunyemi
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have never used the AIR Self-Determination Scale in my classroom but I could see myself using the scale with my students. I like that the student form emphasizes that it is not a test and that there are no right or wrong answers. This allows the students to focus on themselves instead of worrying about what the right answer might be. I think that giving examples of how to mark an answer is helpful because some students might get confused with the four possible answers, especially when having to chose between Almost Never, Sometimes, and Almost Always. Those three answers are very similar to each other. The Scale really encourages the student to look within and not only evaluate how they perceive themselves but also how they think others see them. Since the completion of this scale requires self reflection I would administer the Self-Determination Scale on an individual basis or send it home with the student to allow for ample time to complete the form. Another plus of this Scale is that the results can be used to set self-determination goals for the student and the user guide actually has a curriculum guide containing a variety of goals for each area assessed.


maria kerr
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have never used the AIR Self-Determination Scale before, but am trying to get some resources together. What I have reviewed so far, I really like. I like the overall format of it and the simplicity. I know that it can sometimes be a little difficult to get everyone to collaborate at school and at home, so having a short form that covers some main goals that they need to obtain, seems to work better in my experience. I really like tying goals from home to those at school, that way the entire team can work on transition.


Jennie Mayer
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have used this assessment tool numerous times and I am highly complimentary of it. Not only is it free but also user friendly. It gives you a profile on the levels of self-determination with areas of strengths and weaknesses. After giving this assessment to my class(when I was in the classroom) I used the results to write curriculum and later find curriculum to teach Self-determination daily to my class. I found Self-determination skills lacking in all of my students at that time but a year later the results were much better, and even better in two years. Students NEED to be taught these skills and this instrument allowed me an opportunity to identify specific IEP goals which led to good post secondary goals, which led to success.


Brenda Higley
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This assesment focuses on both support the student feels they are getting at home and at school towards creating a goal and learning the importances of creating a goal . This asessment also includes short question respond so students can write their their thoughts about creating a goal


virginia shaw
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I like the fact that it is 3 dimensional: student, teacher and parent. If you have the ability to sit down and review all documents once they are complete, everyone can get an idea of how they see the student. Strengths and concerns can be discussed and if more information is needed to clarify a rating, then the time could be used to give examples. It is a quick tool and can be anytime. If the student can not read well, the teacher can read it to the student and get their thoughts while completing it together. Due to the fact that it does come in 3 parts, sometimes the parent part may not be returned. However, during an IEP meeting, it can be given and that way you have the parent's input.


Terri Bradley
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was one assessment that I have not yet used with my students but now will be at the top of my list. I like how the scales are all user friendly and ask simple questions on both the parent and student forms. Another strength of this assessment is that it also includes an educator form. By having these three forms, all from various perspectives, allows Special Educators, as well as others involved with the student, to gain a better understanding about the student and their self-determination skills.


Jamie Ste. Marie
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I really like this assessment. I found the format to be easy for my students. The language was simple and easily understood. I used this assessment with a small group of learning impaired students. They were able to read the statements independently. I feel the information gathered will be useful in transition planning and writing about present levels of performance. I have not used the parent form but I think the information gathered from the parents point of view will be invaluable.


Colleen Davis
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I liked many things about this assessment. I thought the rubric was set up in a very user friendly way and gave students good choices for each option. I like the fact that it addresses both the school and the home environment. I also like the fact that it has a section on goal setting that is not multiple choice.

Some limitations that I see with this assessment is that it can only go as far as the student's understanding of themselves. My experience with high school students is that many of them do not know themselves all that well yet and may have some difficulty with the questions. I also think that many of them might not have a good answer to the question about goals. It is also limited in that it does not address actual skills that the student may have.

I think that this would be a good tool for developing outcomes with a student who may need some guidance in this area.


Helen Jurnak
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Air Self-Determination Scale has parent, student, and educator survey forms designed around goal setting. The rating scale is simple and can be easily understood by individuals with mild cognitive disabilities. I have used the student form as a goal setting instrument for students in my social prgamatics and life skills classes. While the form assumes a student has the ability to reflect on his/her own planning and goal setting skills, when used with the parent and educator forms it gives an opportunity for discussions regarding personal perception and how other's perceive you. The AIR Self-Determination Scale is also a nice beginning to teaching self-advocay skills. I do not find it icomprehensive as the ARC's Self-Determination Scale; however, I think it is a nice starting point for students with little experience in the area of self-detrmination.


gina himes
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The AIR Self-Determination Scale is well organized and has forms for the student, the parent and the educator. The directions and examples are clear. The questions on the forms are concise; it is easy to determine what the questions is asking and should not become overwhelming for the person completing it. The educator form has examples with the questions; this is a great way to clarify what the question is asking. The forms are thought provoking without being long and tedious. The user guide is well organized and easy to refer to with examples of goals. The AIR Self-Determination Profile form is a great way to pull everything together. I have not used this yet however, it appears to be a great way to start gathering information on a student and getting a well rounded picture of the student.


Barbara McLoughlin
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have not used this assessment but would like to. I like that it has a student form, family form and teacher form. This will help in planning goals for the student with all three resources involved. The forms seem to be easy to use. I will see if my school can get this assessment.


Terra Blakely
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

What drew me to look further into this assessment was the name it self, AIR Self-Determination Assessment. Now, I have not had the opportunity to use this assessment but the name and description interests me very much. I have never heard of or thought of the idea of assessing a students level of self-determination. After looking further into this idea I really like it and can see how beneficial it potentially could be. From my experiences as a high school special educator I have worked with many students who lack self-determination skills. High school can be a very hard time for students and when you add in having a disability many students can feel overwhelmed which, I have found, can deteriorate their self-determination skills. I really like the idea of this assessment because I feel self-determination skills are the foundation of a students successful transition from high school to the work place or post-secondary education. I also like how this assessment is available for free.


Roy Sargent
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have not used this assessment yet with my students. It will likely be one of the first assessments that I try for some of my students. It is helpful that there are forms for parents, students, and teachers. Having different viewpoints often increases the usefullness of assessments.The scales on the forms are clear and seem like they will be easy to use. As a free resource, this is worth considering.


Daniel Nowlan
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The three things that I like most about this assessment are the three areas that it actually targets. It helps the team to to assess the actual level of self determination skills that a student possess, it identifies that strengths that the students has and then the areas that they need to improve on and lastly it gives the educator specific goals that will be useful for the student to work on that can be incorporated into the IEP.

There are three pieces to gathering the information needed about the student. There is the student form, parent form and then the educator form. All forms/scales appear to be user friendly.


Melissa Dennett
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I haven't used this assessment yet, but would like to try it out. I feel this is a good Self-Determination scale, because you get input from the student, parent, and teacher to use when developing a student's transition plan. The scale allows students, teachers, and parents to give input in several different areas that are significant in developing a student's transition plan. The format looks to be user friendly and a quick transition assessment of a student. The other important factor I found was the assessment is free, which is excellent for my school district's budget right now.


Sandy Fischer
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have not used this particular assessment yet. It seems like an easy assessment to give. I like that it is broken up into Student, Parent, and Educator. In the area of the student's self-determination it gives the student's strengths and weaknesses. This information can be used to write IEP goals to help the student become stronger in self-determination.


Staci Vreeland
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have not used the AIR Self-Determination Scale; however, I find it useful in assessing this area. It does include a parent or teacher form as it does in the Hoffman example but it does break the assessment down into different environments which may be helpful. I like that it is a free resource.


Mary Kay Merten
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The AIR Self -Determination Scale is quick to complete, easy to score, free, and user friendly. It is a great tool to bring begin conversations with students regarding self-determination. It is best suited for students in junior high or who are in high school but are lower functioning. The students do need some direction as to how to answer questions accurately as they do require a good deal of honest self-reflection.

I administered the AIRS to a small group of high school juniors with ED and they found the instrument to be somewhat low for them. In reviewing their answers and questions I can see how they feel that way. I do however think that two years prior to this the students would have benefited a good deal.

I would strongly recommend the AIRS to junior high teachers of students with learning disabilities or emotional disturbance as well as high school teachers of students with cognitive or developmental delays.


Rick Beckett
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The thing I like about this assessment best is that there are three evaluators. Not only does the student fill out the assessment scale but the parents and an educator fill it out as well. The assessment asks good questions to get students to think about their goals. The questions would have to be read to the students that I work with because they would not be able to understand the language without some explanation. There are a lot of questions and I would be concerned about the time factor.


SHELLY SLIMAN
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I looked at this assesment because I like the idea of of self-determination and if there is an assessment tht will help determine the needs of the student,great. I like this assessment because it is relatively easy to give and score and it is free. I gave it to a student the other day just to see if it works I gave her the student portion and I filled out the teacher portion. She is a student with a learning disability in reading. I did read the test to her. The AIR tests in the area of capacitty and opportunity. This might not have been the best student to give it to because she has pretty high self-determination skills;however, the test showed that, She scored herself a 95% in both areas and my score was 90%. I will definitely give this to other students and use this as a starting point for self-determination. I discussed the scores with the student and she really enjoyed seeing it on paper. This assessment also helps with goals in the areas of needs which is great.


Angie Lawless
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Rated this assessment: 1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I looked at the AIR Self-Determination scale, which :

  • produces a profile of the student's level of self-determination
  • identifies areas of strength and areas needing improvement
  • identifies specific educational goals that can be incorporated into the student's IEP

The AIR Assessments measure two broad self-determination components. Capacity refers to the student's knowledge, abilities, and perceptions that enable them to be self-determined. Opportunity refers to the student's chances to use their knowledge and abilities.

I liked this scale because it gives students a chance to get to know and understand their own preferences.


Julia Schmitz
January 3, 2014
4:01PM

Disclaimer

The Transition Coalition and the Division on Career Development and Transition (DCDT) have collected and disseminated these tips in an effort to enhance public access to information about transition activities. Our intention is to provide resources that are current and accurate. We do not endorse or promote any of the products, websites or ideas presented in the tips. Although every attempt is made to ensure the accuracy of this information, we can make no guarantees. We will, of course, make every effort to correct errors brought to our attention. If you find an error in one of the tips listed, you may contact us. Please credit the source when copying all or part of this material.